Dakota Ojibway Child and Family Services (DOCFS) was mandated on July 1, 1981 to deliver services to the eight DOTC communities; Birdtail Sioux First Nation, Canupawakpa Dakota Nation, Dakota Plains, Long Plain First Nation, Roseau River Anishinabe First Nation, Sandy Bay First Nation, Sioux Valley Dakota Nation and Swan Lake First Nation.

Service to eight communities

On April 28, 2004 the mandate was extended to enable DOCFS to deliver services to the membership of those eight communities wherever they lived in the Province of Manitoba. We now have fully functioning offices in Brandon, Portage la Prairie and Winnipeg.

An independant agency

On September 1, 2007, Sandy Bay First Nation received their own mandate and became an independent agency. On August 1, 2009, a Sub Agreement between DOCFS, Sandy Bay CFS and the Southern Authority was signed to enable Dakota Plains to receive service through Sandy Bay CFS. DOCFS now delivers service to six of the DOTC communities. DOCFS is governed by a Board of Directors which is comprised of representation from each of the six DOTC communities.

DOCFS is a non-profit, community based organization which provides child protection and family services under the auspices of the Southern First Nation Network of Care (Southern Authority).

Unite Interactive